Civil Services

Civil Services Main Examination

An aspirant is directly entitled for the civil services main examination after qualifying for the preliminary paper. For the main examination, a candidate needs to put an enormous effort so as to achieve the goal of clearing the exam. The civil services main examination syllabus includes nine papers, which has to be elaborately explained by the candidates. With this test format, the candidate's overall knowledge, academic skills and writing style are being scrutinized by the examiner.

The entire written examination is for 2000 marks. Paper 1 allows an aspirant to choose one Indian language out of 22 languages, and the paper is for i 300 marks. Paper 2 again includes 300 marks questions based on the English language and paper 3 contains 200 marks questions based on an essay. The questions for paper 4 and 5 are based on general studies for which each paper is for 300 marks. In the 6, 7, 8 and 9 papers, the questions are generally asked on two optional subjects and each paper contains 300 marks questions which means that the total questions are for 1200 marks. The candidate can select two optional subjects in accordance with their interest. Further, the final round is the interview test for 300 marks in which questions are often asked on current affairs, personal interests, on-going events, etc.


Syllabus for Indian Languages and English Qualifying

These two papers are written by candidates either in the English language or their respective language

Paper-1 (Maximum Marks 300) and Paper -2 (Maximum Marks 300)

  1. Comprehension passage: The candidate needs to read the whole passage thoroughly and mark out the correct answer.

  2. Short Essay: Limited word with correct message is the essence of the short essay. It identifies the writing style, grammar usage and vocabulary of the candidate.

  3. Precis Writing: A careful reading is must in précis writing in order to meet the expectations of the examiner.

  4. Translation from English to Indian language and vice versa: The translation if from one Indian language to another, to test the knowledge and proficiency of aspirants in a particular language.

  5. Grammar usage and Vocabulary: The applicants should emphasize on the appropriate usage of grammar while writing and also acquire immense knowledge on synonyms and antonyms of difficult words.


Syllabus for Essay

Paper-3 (Maximum Marks 200)

The essay on a particular topic has to be written in a descriptive form. With this writing style, candidates have the opportunity to pen down their thoughts, feeling and views on a given topic. Well written and expressive essays generally grab the attention of the examiner and helps the aspirant to score good marks. More importantly, the right selection of the topic and a precise writing style is the best way of staying ahead from your competitors. It is often considered that topics related to current events or some important issues are ideal for essay writing.


Syllabus for General Studies (Paper 4 and 5)

These papers are designed with an aim to test the overall knowledge of the candidate in various subjects as well as current issues. With these papers, an aspirant's views regarding the country’s economic status, social factors, future objectives and demands are also analyzed.


Paper-4 (Maximum Marks 300)

  1. Geography of India: This paper includes topic related to the physical, social and economic geography of India.

  2. History of Modern India and Indian Culture: This paper covers all important events of ancient and modern periods. Question based on famous personalities (who fought for the country’s freedom and development) are often asked in the exam. Indian literature, culture, art & architecture are also a few topics that have to be taken into consideration while preparing for general studies.

  3. Constitution of India and Indian Polity: On-going issues of the constitution and the administrative system of the country and other legal matters are some important topics, which should be thoroughly revised by the candidate to score maximum marks.

  4. Current National Concerns and Topics of Social Importance: Questions based on topics like employment, utilization of resources, growth & development of the country, environmental & health issues, human rights, law and enforcement, etc. are generally asked in the civil service main examination.


Paper-5 (Maximum Marks 300)

  1. India and the World: This paper covers the topic of India’s relationship with its neighboring counties. Questions based on foreign affairs, the nuclear deal, conflicts & issues and security & defence matters are also asked in the exam. Besides this, the candidate should read topics related to Indian migration and their contribution to India and its neighboring countries.

  2. International Affairs and Institutions: Questions on the world’s main events as well as on international institutions are asked in the general studies paper.

  3. India’s Economic Interaction with the World: Candidate needs to keep an eye on topics related to economic and trade issues, which includes foreign investment & trade, issues related to oil, gas and energy flow, roles and responsibilities of Word Bank, W.T.O, I.M.F, etc.

  4. Developments in the Field of Science & Technology, IT and Space: This paper encompasses topics like science & technology, biotechnology, information technology, robotics, space, etc.

  5. Statistical analysis, graphs and diagrams: The knowledge of candidates on statistics and their proficiency on graphical and diagrammatical representation are examined through this paper.


  • Civil Services Syllabus

    Syllabus for Civil Services Preliminary Examination To attain the pinnacle of success in life and to make a prosperous career, one needs to study wholeheartedly for the civil services examination. The syllabus for this examination is meticulously set and designed by the UPSC every year. With some significant changes, now the preliminary examination is better known as th...Read More

Sign Up FREE

Excel in your exam with Edurite.