NEET (National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test)

NEET (National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test) is the entrance examination for admission to MBBS and BDS courses. With the approval of the Central Government, the MCI (Medial Council of India) has replaced the All India Pre Medical Test (AIPMT) and all states and colleges level MBBS exams have been merged into a single NEET entrance exam. In order to take admission in various undergraduate medical, dental and post- graduate courses of government and private medical colleges, a candidate is required to qualify for the NEET examination.

The NEET was expected to be held in the year 2012 but later on it was decided by the CBSE and MCI (Medical Council of India) to conduct the entrance examination in the year 2013. For the first time, the NEET is going to be held on May 5 across the nation. This entrance examination will cover questions on Physics, Chemistry and Biology for both XI and XII standards. Based on the objective type test pattern, the NEET examination is solely organized for 15% of the total merit positions for the medical and dental colleges, which run under the direction of the State Government, Municipal and the Union of India.

The eligibility for appearing in the NEET examination is that an applicant should complete 17 years of age during admission time or should complete 17 years on or before 31st December of the year of admission to the first year MBBS/BDS course. Besides this, a candidate should be an Indian National. Moreover, a maximum 25 years of age as on 31st December has been set for appearing in the NEET examination and a relaxation of 5 years is provided to scheduled castes, scheduled tribes and other backward classes.

Candidates who will score 50th percentile in the NEET exam will be entitled to take admission in the MBBS program. For schedule castes, schedule tribes and other backward classes, a minimum marks of 40th percentile has been set by the MCI (Medical Council of India) for admission to the MBBS course. Based on the highest marks scored, the percentile will be evaluated in the All India common merit list in NEET for admission to the MBBS/BDS courses.

  • NEET Syllabus

    Syllabus for NEET-UG Exam The NEET examination syllabus is suggested by Medical Council of India (MCI) after analyzing several state syllabi and other syllabus, which are offered by NCERT, CBSE and COBSE. The National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test (NEET) syllabus is designed by considering the various domains in Medical education in order to maintain the uniformity across the natio...Read More

  • NEET Previous Year Question Papers

    Previous year question papers are the best resource for exam preparation. It provides in-depth understanding of question format and mark distribution pattern to students. Preparing for exam through previous year question papers will certainly improve students’ grades and also minimize their exam anxiety. NEET previous year question papers not only make students aware abo...Read More

Sign Up FREE

Excel in your exam with Edurite.